Skip to main content
The '''Adriatic Sea''' is a body of water separating the Italian Peninsula from the Balkan peninsula and the Apennine Mountains from the Dinaric Alps and adjacent ranges. The Adriatic is the northernmost arm of the Mediterranean Sea, extending from the Strait of Otranto (where it connects to the Ionian Sea) to the northwest and the Po Valley. The countries with coasts on the Adriatic are Italy, Croatia, Albania, Montenegro, Bosnia and Herzegovina|Bosnia-Herzegovina, and Slovenia. The Adriatic contains over 1,300 islands, mostly located along its eastern, Croatian, coast. It is divided into three basins, the northern being the shallowest and the southern being the deepest, with a maximum depth of . The Otranto Sill, an underwater ridge, is located at the border between the Adriatic and Ionian Seas. The prevailing currents flow counterclockwise from the Strait of Otranto, along the...
Image bathymetry| caption_bathymetry =
InflowAdige, Bojana (river)|Bojana, Drin (river)|Drin, Krka (Croatia)|Krka, Neretva, Po (river)|Po, Soča
OutflowIonian Sea
Basin countries''Coastal'': Albania, Greece, Italy, Croatia, Montenegro, Slovenia, and Bosnia and Herzegovina|Bosnia-Herzegovina
''Non-coastal'': Serbia,{{cite web|url=|format=PDF|title=Serbia: Introduction|edition=4|year=2013|publisher=Brandt Travel Guides Ltd|accessdate=7 June 2015}} Republic of Macedonia|Macedonia, Kosovo, Switzerland and France (drainage basins for inflow rivers)
Length km800
Width km200
Depth m252.5
share Share
favorite Favorite
up-solid down-solid